noteworthy – first published article

Today is a rather noteworthy day for me, as it marks the appearance of my first, first-authored article in a peer reviewed journal!  (Ah, academia.)  The article, Questioning Assumptions About Students’ Expectations for Technology in College Classrooms, appears today in the Innovate Journal of Online Education.  If it sounds like a familiar topic, you’re right; it draws on research that I’ve described and presented elsewhere.  Anyway, kind of exciting, and I’m curious to see how it’s received, as it pushes back on some of the common assumptions that people make about "the Net Gen."

10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “noteworthy – first published article

  1. Congratulations! Looking forward to reading it.

  2. Congrats Sarah! I must say that I find your analysis quite recognizable, both with some knowledge of the type of students and environment you describe. Definitely matches my perceptions of students at SLACs.

  3. Very very cool. Are you going to do the online chat with the author thing too? Rock on with your bad self!!

  4. Wonderful, Sarah! Congrats. I plan to point to the article during a talk I’m giving on Tuesday.
    My students resist technology in the opening days, sometimes all the way through a course. Based on what they write in ongoing narrative reflections, my understanding of their reluctance to blog has to do with fear of failure, of showing their work in public and of doing things in a way they’ve not been trained to do for school. They don’t necessarily want school to move beyond the walls of the classroom.
    ~Barbara

  5. Amy McGill

    Congratulations! Looking forward to reading this and sharing it with people here. It will be interesting to see if/how technology practices play out differently among grad students.

  6. And FYI – your article was abstracted in The Chronicle: http://chronicle.com/daily/2007/06/2007060601j.htm
    Cool!

  7. Sarah

    Thanks for the pointer, Jason! That’s pretty darn exciting. 🙂 And thanks to everyone for the supportive comments!

  8. Yes indeed, and in fact I cited you and the article in a plenary session I did at IALLT (Intl Association of Language Learning Technology) in Boston last month … article and more citations to follow in the IALLT Journal.
    Question: May I contact you off-blog about possibly coming on our blog/webcast to talk more…provided you are not already hounded by the media and the mobs of fans? 🙂
    –Barbara

  9. Sarah

    Hey Barbara – thanks! I’m flattered to be considered for your podcast, please feel free to contact me – I’ll see if my agent can find a hole in my schedule. 😉 scl2103ATcolumbiaDOTedu

Leave a Reply

