google scholar talks to my library

…and it is a Good Thing.  Google Scholar has turned out to be pretty useful for locating articles, but they were always behind the password-protected wall of the publisher.  So, the process of getting a pdf involved opening a new browser window, going to my library website, logging on to the catalogue, and then either searching for the journal or searching for the specific article in a database, finding the article, and then clicking a link that takes me back to the publisher’s website, this time authenticated as a paying customer.  Well, as I was poking around on Google Scholar this afternoon for articles, I was stoked to find out that I can now just click on the link to the article and download a copy of the pdf.  No more middle man!  This is going to seriously speed up my research process.  Very cool!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

