summertime, summertime

Well, the spring semester is over, I turned in a masters project, I passed my certification exam, work has been productive, and yesterday I had a beer in the middle of the afternoon.  All is well with the world.  (Can’t you just hear the birds chirping in the background?)

In other words, summertime! 

Although I’ve been living in New York for 3 years, this will actually be my first summer in the city.  My usual gig in Vermont is no more, which is kind of a bummer.  It was really nice to get away from the whole school routine for a couple of months – make a clean break, and come back in the fall with batteries charged, ready to go.  However, summer in the city has its upsides, so I’m told.  🙂  On the list: biergarten in Astoria, more rock climbing (hopefully outdoors as well!), movies in the park, and LOTS of sitting on my butt in the park, reading a book (preferably fiction), with an iced beverage in hand (have lately been addicted to the Green Tea Frappuccino at Starbucks, though Le Pain Quotidien does a nice mint lemonade). 

But it won’t be all fun and games, oh no.  I’ll be continuing my RA work with CTELL, and doing some workshops and writing for NITLE.  I’m also TAing a class in the summer A session – Technologies and Literacies – and am very pschyed for the opportunity.  I’m pretty sure that I’m also going to take a discourse analysis class during summer A; I was going to put off taking a class until the second session, but this is really the only one that would actually be useful.  Plus, it’ll piggyback on the methodologies section of my diss proposal (which I’m supposed to be working on as well).

So, it’s shaping up to be a busy time, and much more school than I’m used to at this time of the year.  Then again, everything I’m working on is interesting stuff, so maybe it’s not a bad thing after all.  And there will be more drinking of beer in the middle of the afternoon, oh yes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

