I’m a big nerd

After moving into a new apartment, and taking a few days for just lazing around, I’m now slowing getting back into the mindframe of classes.  I’m only taking 3 classes this fall, using a certificate of equivalency to give me full time status while I begin work on my dissertation proposal (gulp!).  There’s one class that I’m particularly excited to be taking (here’s where the nerd part comes in): Readings in communication theory and social thought 

I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised to see that the profs are using a Plone implementation to deliver the course content.  The layout of the thing makes much more sense than the crappy Blackboard/Prometheus implementation that TC uses, materials are more easily accessible, and the vast majority of readings are online as pdfs – without having to jump through the hoops of going through the library.  Simple, clean, and efficient.  Ahhhh.  My only complaint is that we’re not getting to Foucault and Bourdieu until the spring…

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “I’m a big nerd

  1. DrJoolz

    Sounds like a very cool course; I must be a nerd too!!
    God, Poor you the summer is over thogh.

  2. Sounds like a very cool course; I must be a nerd too!!
    God, Poor you the summer is over thogh.

  3. gus

    And sadly, the stuff in the first semester is ancient, turgid, and the profs don’t do a particularly good job of connecting it to other things you know/the department talks about/the broader architecture of social thought. It’s a frogmarch through Western thought. And yes, I will be joining you in the spring šŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

