So when’s the next book due out?

I finished Harry Potter a few days ago, I’ve just been too lazy to flip the closed sign over again.  🙂  Of course it was wonderful, though I was mildly disappointed by slightly sparser prose than I’m used to from Rowling.  Anyway, a few days ago I read a review of HP (in the Times, I think) that centered on the books’ appeal to adults, attributing it in part to the nostalgia factor. 

As a young girl, I remember hiding for days behind a boxed set of The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis that was a gift from an aunt.  The same aunt later gave me a boxed set of The Hobbitt + The Lord of the Rings trilogy, which I found slightly too dense and otherworldy for my tastes at the time.  By contrast, The Chronicles of Narnia presented a world parallel to our own in which four normal, ordinary children had fantastic adventures and grew to be kings and queens of the realm.  I was sold.  (Sound familiar?)

I re-read all of the Chronicles at least once a year, even when I went away to college.  It was around this time, however, that I finally realized the extent to which the stories were a Christian allegory.  I remember being rather bitterly disappointed for a while, given that I’d become disillusioned with religion – Catholicsm, specifically – in the previous years.  I came around though, and still love them to the point that I’m not at all certain of going to see the film adaptation that is coming to theaters in the near future.  I can’t say the same for Harry Potter – I’m really looking forward to the next film, especially if it’s anything like the last one.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “So when’s the next book due out?

  1. Stop wasting your time with HP and read His Dark Materials (Philip Pullman) trilogy already! 😉

  2. Sarah

    Oh, you assume that I haven’t read it, eh? Pish. My daemon could kick your daemon’s ass – if it could get far enough from my body. 😉

  3. Daily Tribute

    Here is a recap of significant posts in the edublogging community from the past 48 hours.

    From Sarah Lohnes : Post on Harry Potter, the Chronic…

Leave a Reply

