working w/ wikis

Although I talk about wikis in my social software workshops and presentations, I’m genearlly much less confident talking about wikis than I am about blogs.  Guessing this is probably because I’m not a regular wiki user (although I have contributed to several workspaces and am currently using one to collaboratively author a book review).  So I was interested to see this bit of wiki advice:

Generally, wikis can work best when something is slightly unfinished,
when room for contribution is left clear. Finished text leads people to
drop in links or short comments. Quite different from wikitechture that
involves people in the process of production and encourages development
of shared practices.
[Ross Mayfield on M2M]

That resonates with my experience working with wikis, for sure.  Seems like sound advice for developing classroom activities using wikis – and also articulates a difference between blogging practices (where a blog as a whole can be collaboratively authored, but posts still tend to be single-authored) and wiki practices (where content is developed collaboratively).

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “working w/ wikis

  1. Daily Tribute

    Here is a recap of significant posts in the edublogging community from the past 48 hours.

    From Sarah Lohnes : Post on wrkinh with wikis.

  2. love the term “wikitechture” 🙂

  3. After all this time…

    My husband, who works for a foundation helping communities that are facing development pressure plan for their future, came home from work last night and asked me if I would walk some of his colleagues through my blogging. He thought…

  4. After all this time…

    My husband, who works for a foundation helping communities that are facing development pressures plan for their future, came home from work last night and asked me if I would walk some of his colleagues through my blogging. He thought…

Leave a Reply

