“blogs is shorthand for…” wtf?

Scanning the BBC News web headlines at lunch, I came across a column called the Weblog Watch. This seems to be a rather popular item in the mainstream media lately – Time Magazine has the Blogwatch – and since I’m interested in mass media representation of bloggers, I thought I’d check it out. Turns out that according to this British journalist,

since the presidential campaign, "blogs" is sometimes
used as a shorthand for the right-wing community that wreaked havoc on
John Kerry.

????

He goes on to concede that " It’s a neat story: the mainstream media is "liberal" and
the independent bloggers are "conservative", but these flimsy labels
peel off easily."  Yeah, it’s a neat story all right – first-class fiction. I’ve written before how blogs tend to get boiled down to either being vehicles for independent political commentary, or online journals (that are full of useless crap, is the usual insinuation), so the angle that the reporter is using isn’t totally off-base in that regard.  But wow – blogs = right wing?  That’s news to me!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to ““blogs is shorthand for…” wtf?

  1. Bob

    Yeah, check out this bit of conservative propaganda from my blog!
    http://naas.blogspot.com/2005/06/damn-hes-such-dick-or-disconnect.html

  2. Sarah

    Ugh, you conservative jerk! I’m never reading your “blog” again.
    😉

  3. Ben

    “I’ve written before how blogs tend to get boiled down to either being vehicles for independent political commentary, or online journals (that are full of useless crap, is the usual insinuation), so the angle that the reporter is using isn’t totally off-base in that regard.”
    I would disagree with this statement. Being the facilitator of an educational blog/forum geared towards helping educators find ways to use technology within the classroom, I would argue there is plenty of room for other “categories” beyond politics and journaling. Granted, while most blogs have the appearance of journaling, there are many with a style and voice that would elevate them above the “personal musings” of “mindless crap.”

  4. Sarah

    Ben – you’re making my point exactly. I guess I wasn’t clear enough in the post; I meant that the BBC reporter wasn’t off-base w/ his angle in relation to mass media coverage in general (which tends to go with the either journal or journalism theme). I absolutely agree with you that there are many other categories or genres or whatever one might call them. I’m actually tempted to go to the other extreme and say that we can’t even necessarily classify blogs yet – there are as many uses as there are users at this point.

Leave a Reply

