complain complain

You know, I realize that I do a lot of complaining on this blog, particularly about things that are well beyond my day-to-day control. Typical of a blogger, some would say. 🙂 Anyway, I’ve been talking with friends recently about the overwhelming feelings of anger and outrage and disappointment towards events in the world that don’t represent our views, and yet are not in our control. I wonder how much of this is attributable to our age and relative inexperience in the world, i.e. a few years out of college and slowly learning how the world really works. Action is obviously one cure for the feelings of being out of control, but I know that it’s not a reality for me to mount large scale protest or relief efforts. I am finding that for me, though, it’s been helpful to contribute to efforts that I feel strongly about even on a small level. For example, rather than throwing away the unsolicited mail I get from Amnesty International or the ACLU, I’ve been reading through it and sending in letters or small contributions where appropriate. Many times these and similar organizations give one the opportunity to do something very easily that will have an impact, like signing a card for wrongly-held prisoners which one then drops back in the mail. It may not be a large-scale effort, but it is a contribution, an action, and is somewhat (perhaps selfishly?) satisfying on that level. All of which is a long way of saying that I think that we – leastways, me – sometimes get caught up in the large and forget that the small can also be empowering and effective.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “complain complain

  1. Sarah,
    Interesting synchronicity. I tried to tackle similar questions in something I just wrote, where I explore the issue of online technologies and epistemological distance, and propose a model for balancing our actions online and offline. Cf. http://ideant.typepad.com/ideant/2004/08/reapproaching_n.html

Leave a Reply

