Fourth of Ju-ly

Spent the weekend chilling out with Gus and others in the village of West Topsham, home of Jessamyn‘s annual weekend bash. Lovely weather, interesting conversation, and much grilled food was had by all. Highlights of the weekend included a turn as a croquet referee (though I don’t think I was terribly successful at fulfilling my duties, the beer and warm seat on the deck distracted me), a fun mesh trucker hat (see photos), and roman candles. Although I was the stranger among the group, it turns out that Jessamyn also knows Bryan, which in retrospect is not surprising given their mutual interests.

What did you do for the holiday?

Today I bought three new books, purchased with a gift certificate given to me by our workshop participants on their last day: Dry, by Augusten Burroughs; The Known World, by Edward Jones; and A Bend in the River, by V.S. Naipaul. Should be enough to get me through the upcoming family trip to Canada for my cousin’s wedding!

I have no other witty or interesting ancedotes to share, given that I’m so tired my head hurts. I think I’ll go sit on my ass and read.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

