Apocalypse Now

Yes friends, I think the apocalypse is upon us. Or at least, upon my apartment building. As you heard me whine about incessantly, I had flooding in my apartment last week due to a pipe bursting on a floor above me. Just when you thought things were back to normal, this afternoon an apartment on the 15th floor of my building caught on fire. I was in my apartment on the 5th floor when I heard the alarms go off. There wasn’t any smoke or fire on my floor, but I decided to grab my purse and my computer (yes, I know, geeky) and head outside anyway. By the time I made it downstairs, there were already 4 or 5 fire trucks in the street. I don’t have many details, other than that it was a small fire, and was mostly contained to the apartment. I don’t know if it was occupied or not, although I don’t think anyone was injured. They let us back in the building about a half hour later, and I am happy to report that there is no damage to my room.

So, I am expecting a plague of locusts any day now. Just in case, I am planning to take out a flood, fire, and locust insurance policy. 🙂

Of course, then you see things like this, and realize that a) things akin to the apocalypse is happening on a regular basis across the world, and b) you’re not in such bad shape after all.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Apocalypse Now

  1. you know, much of this country has cicadas (sp?) right now. The 17 year ones only seem to come out when republicans are in office. Is BushCo bing the apocalypse? I dunno. But the last time they came out Reagan was in office. Previously, Nixon. Before that it was Eisenhower. Then FDR, but he was in there for a long time…

  2. Sarah

    According to my friend Larysa, “The damn cicadas have taken over DC – it’s the most disgusting thing I’ve ever seen!” Hmm. I smell a conspiracy.
    After reading my flood and fire email, another friend of mine pointed out that when I moved into my apartment, I actually did have a plague of cockroaches for the first few weeks. May not be locusts, but annoying pests all the same.

Leave a Reply

