Surreal Moment

I had a very surreal moment earlier this morning walking the streets of NY this morning. I was up and out much earlier than usual, due to the fact that my apartment management wanted to get into my room to bang a hole in my bathroom wall, in order to replace pipes that have created several floods over the past week. [another story for another time] Anyway, rather than go into work early (god forbid) I decided to stop at the Hungarian Pastry Shop for a cup of coffee in the sun. As I walked along 111th St, between Bdway and Amsterdam, I realized that there were a) way more men randomly hanging out on a small, quiet, shaded side street than I’d ever seen and b) absolutely no women aside from myself. At all. More pedestrians entered the street, all men. Coupled with the fact that I was hazy from very little sleep, this seemed extremely odd and slightly disconcerting. Some sort of alternate universe where the men outnumbered the women, 20 to 1. Hmm. Beam me up, Scotty! 🙂

Joking aside, the dark side to this experience is the very real potential for being harassed. Dana explains this well in a recent post. I’m always aware of my surroundings when I walk around by myself, and being alone on a side street full of shady men is not a situation a woman wants to find herself in. So it goes in the city.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

